Phases of Life

I have a fleetingly addictive personality (OK, so maybe I just made that term up, but it really does seem like something I have). People who have regular addictive personalities are much more susceptible to real, sometimes harmful, long-term addictions. (With the exception of my real-life addictions to both coffee and sugar, I’m not sure that I could get addicted to anything super-long-term – my attention span is much too low.)

Instead, I get addicted to things really quickly and really obsessively. I find something that I like, I spend 100% of my time on that one thing, and within a couple weeks, I’m bored of it. Unless I’ve forced myself to become disciplined with a specific habit, I get bored of most things in my life relatively quickly. (I even prefer TV shows to movies because 2 hours is honestly just a really long time to focus on one individual thing.)

Because of this weird, fleetingly addictive personality I was blessed with, most of my life is broken into phases. Not phases like normal people have (like back in middle school when we all thought gauchos were cool), I have phases of habits, phases of actions, phases of dreams. But eventually, they all float away, and I find something else to occupy my time or my mind.

If you choose to only pick one area of my life out and break it into phases, “dream career” would be a pretty easy one. When I was really, really young, I wanted to be an animator. Then that turned into Imagineer, which turned into engineer, which turned into wedding planner, which turned into professor, which turned into “I HAVE NO FREAKIN’ IDEA!” Which turned into nurse, which turned into teacher, which turned into novelist, which turned into recruiter, which turned into stay-at-home-mom.

All of those specific careers are linked to very specific times in my life in which I wanted to become each one for different reasons (I still think they’re all cool options if we’re being honest here). But now, I’m stuck in: “I want to be a writer who’s eventually a stay-at-home mom, and maybe I’ll also go to nursing school if nothing works out because that would be pretty neat.”

Anyway – the point is: fleeting phases. I have phases. (I chose career because it’s the easiest category in which to break my life apart, but honestly you could pick any category.) I mean, just this year, I had a phase in which I took off my make up every night, I had a phase when I only ate 500 calories for a week, and I had a phase in which I rigorously tried to write a book. All obsessive, fleeting phases.

Friday, I entered into a new phase, and let me tell you, it might be my most favorite phase of all. On Friday, I found out that Netflix has the HGTV show Fixer Upper on it, which I’d previously heard plenty about but had never actually watched. Friday was the day that I chose to watch my first Fixer Upper episode. Friday was also the day that I decided my biggest dream in life (right now): buy a house for less than $30,000 and completely flip it into a Chip & Joanna approved home.

If you haven’t ever watched an episode of Fixer Upper, please exit out of this blog, open up a new tab, and watch Season 1, Episode 1 on Netflix. (I should warn you: you may or may not fall completely in love with Chip & Joanna. You also may or may not ever be satisfied with life again.)

Fixer Upper, so far, has taught me a lot about life (or maybe just construction). Here are my favorite lessons:

  1. Shiplap is the coolest looking type of wall of all time. I will have shiplap in my future home. (I’m also currently trying to convince my parents to let me re-do one of their walls just so I can teach myself how to install shiplap.)
  1. A galley kitchen is a long skinny kitchen with counters and cabinets on both sides, which leads into two different rooms on opposite sides. (I do not want a galley kitchen, and I can’t wait to have a farm-inspired-Joanna-Gaines island.)
  1. When you hang things on the wall, you can layer them (MIND-BLOWING).
  1. A load-baring wall is a wall that holds a significant amount of weight from the upper levels of the house. You don’t necessarily want to tear one down, but if you do, there are ways to fix it (look how smart I sound).
  1. “A man who can do construction or is at least willing to learn” is now a part of my future-husband non-negotiables.
  1. Waco, Texas is now on my bucket-list for places to visit (before Friday, I’m not sure I even knew Waco was a place. Yes, Baylor University is in Waco, and no, I didn’t know that).

Okay, I think that’s all of them so far.

Friday, I fell in love with the show. Saturday, I made my mother fall in love with the show. Sunday, we started discussing remodels that we could do to our already awesome home. And Monday, I applied for a position with Magnolia Homes in Waco, Texas.

Phases. A month ago, I decided for sure that I wanted to go to grad school next year. Two weeks later, I decided that it would cost too much and be too much work. A week after that, I’d decided that I could just nanny until I want to move to New York City in the next couple years. But this week, I’m dreaming of the day I get to move to Waco, Texas.

 

Leave a Reply

