Iowa City Once Again

This week, I’m spending some time in Iowa City with my college friends since I get the chance to be back in Iowa for a little over a week. If we’re being honest, I hated going to college here (not because it’s a terrible place, just because of me).

I absolutely hated the English program, even though it’s one of the best programs in the country. I hardly ever liked my professors and was generally forced to into studying classes filled with material that I hated. (I know, I know, every major has classes they hate, but for me, it was more than just hating one class. Instead, I probably hated 90% of my classes, and the classes that I did like weren’t English related at all.)

I could’ve changed my major at some point (and I probably should have). But right now, I’ve been graduated from college for exactly one year, and I have no stinkin’ idea what I want to do with my life. If I would’ve enrolled in college this semester, I wouldn’t even know how to begin choosing a major (sure, I could pick out some that were okay, but I don’t really want to spend another $20,000+ if it’s not on something that I’m passionate about).

I was never super fond of the city, or the culture, or the people. That sounds bad, but it’s true. When you go to college (or pick a back-up college – L O L), you should fall in love with the town. You should crave being there and be able to find common interests with everyone you meet. Nobody is going to love everything about their college or their college town, but you should feel happy, and you certainly shouldn’t feel trapped.

I didn’t love my college town while I lived here, but I sure love it now. Now, I’m not stuck in a program that I hate and stuck living in a city that I’m not happy with. Instead, I just get to visit my friends and experience all of the great parts of Iowa City that got diluted while I attended school here.

College, for me, was just a giant whirlwind of confusion in which I had no idea what I was doing with my life or what I wanted to do. I still feel that way a lot, but it’s not as bad as it used to be.

Last night, I talked to someone who was getting ready to start her 25th year of teaching. Twenty-five! Twenty-five years in one profession! How crazy is that?! That amazes me. That’s so cool.

I can’t wait to look back in twenty-five years and see exactly where my life has taken me and what paths I got to go down. Right now, I can’t imagine working for twenty-five years in one profession. Heck, maybe I never will stay in one profession for twenty-five years, or maybe sometime down the road, I’ll fall in love with a career and stick with it forever.

Twenty-five years to dedicated to teaching young students in the 21st century is incredible and worthy of praise. Teaching is hard. Doing any job for twenty-five years is hard. Teaching for twenty-five years must be one of the most rewarding and exhausting jobs on the planet.

Two years in college almost broke me and often made me question why I even went to college. Two years in a town in which I felt lost and had no idea what I was doing was horrible, and I couldn’t wait to leave. Twenty-five years helping the youth of America grow up is note-worthy and important. Twenty-five years is freakin’ impressive.

This week, I’m in Iowa City, and I’m thrilled to be back with my Hawkeyes again. This week is different from last year, and I couldn’t be happier to be here. But this week, I’m still looking for my 25-year passion. Who knows, maybe this time, I’ll find it.

Leave a Reply

